Macarons!!!

Macarons originated in France sometime before, during, of after Marie Antoinette’s reign as Queen. They were originally sandwiched together without any filling. Today, they resemble cute little colorful hamburgers with an assortment of fillings and colors.

I started baking macarons back in 2009. My first try was a fluke. I don’t know how I did it, but I got it right. The thing about macarons is they are very, very, very difficult to bake. You don’t just mix some ingredients together and throw them in the oven, like, let’s say a cake mix from Betty Crocker. You have to age the egg whites, precisely measure the ingredients, make sure to NOT overmix and pray that they come out right. (Well, at least that’s how they’ve worked out for me). So I think I’ve failed more than I’ve succeeded. Tonight, I succeeded. Yay!

I incorporated MyFoodGeek’s recipe with A La Cuisine’s recipe .

So here’s what you’ll need:

1 Cup of almond flour (you can buy the almond meal at Trader Joe’s or grind your own almonds. Blanched almonds are nice because the colors really pop). I used TJ’s.

1 1/4 Cups of powdered sugar

1/4 Cup of granulated sugar

1/3 Cup of egg whites 3 large egg whites (do not substitute with extra  large eggs!!) (usually around 3 eggs’ worth but do not just use 3 egg whites because the portions vary)

2 drops of lemon

Pinch of salt

I got the 2 drops of lemon part from MyFoodGeek then followed  A La Cuisine’s steps (minus drawing circles with a pencil on parchment paper. Yeah–no. I don’t have the patience for that).

I used Tartelette’s recipe for the filling.

Tips:

If you bake them for too long, they will come out hard like an eggshell (mine was 18 minutes at 320 degrees in an electric oven)

If you don’t bake them long enough, they will not cook inside (around less than 10 minutes)

If they do not form a skin after an hour, toss them (too much egg whites, proportions off).

Syrup & Tang is a good reference source.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

